Intuitive online banking via mobile or desktop

Previous itemRaiffeisen E-BankingNext item

For many, paying bills online has become a matter of course. But now what a rising number of customers want are mobile banking services. However, this growing trend poses a real challenge to banking systems.

To satisfy the rising demand for mobile banking services, Raiffeisen developed a new e-banking frontend. As regards the new user interface, the Swiss bank relied on its in-house developers to build the key client interfaces. However, Liip was on hand to provide Raiffeisen with extra support to realise its ambitious goal. This was not the first time that the two had worked together: Liip was behind the development of the Raiffeisen MemberPlus portal and parts of the bank’s intranet.

Partnership – key to success

Throughout the project developers from Raiffeisen and Liip shared an office St. Gallen. A 100% responsive online banking solution that is compatible with any mobile device is the result of this close working relationship. Namics oversaw the design of the new solution.
Checking your account balance on the train, changing your standing order while lounging on the beach, or even paying your dentist’s bill on the ski slopes… With the new e-banking system, Raiffeisen customers can now carry out all of these operations quickly and easily.

Leveraging the potential of mobile devices

Adapting an online system so that it works on mobile devices too is definitely a step in the right direction. But the Raiffeisen e-banking solution goes one step further. For example, take the tedious process of entering all the data that appears on the paper paying-in slip. For Raiffeisen customers, this is now a thing of the past. All they have to do is scan the document using the camera on their mobile device and hey presto… their payment is processed in the blink of an eye.

The log-in process is also mobile-friendly. PhotoTAN provides a secure log-in without the need for any additional devices. The PhotoTAN log-in app can be installed on all standard platforms/devices (iOS, Android, Windows Phone) and offers users the same level of security as connecting to the online banking system via your home desktop.

Technical implementation

In terms of the release, one part of the project team dealt with the frontend, while the other with the backend. This made it possible to keep the existing backend built by Crealogix. 
Communication between the two systems is via a specially developed interface. 

The frontend team used the latest web technologies like AngularJS, Grunt, Bootstrap and Less to develop the best-possible solution.

Automatic testing – lasting quality assurance

The process of developing the Raiffeisen e-banking solution was innovative for many reasons, one of which was the construction and use of automated tests. When adapting the source code, the system carries out a series of tests to verify that the existing system functionalities are not compromised in any way. Unlike unit tests, the automated test system checks these directly in the browser and interacts with the user interface just as a real user would. The upshot: a better quality system.

 

«The new e-banking system bolsters our status as an innovative and modern bank group. We are now in a position to offer our customers an intuitive user experience that is tailored to their needs.»

Additional details

Intuitives E-Banking für Mobile und Desktop

Zahlungen online abzuwickeln ist heutzutage für viele Bankkunden selbstverständlich. Auch das Mobile Banking gewinnt immer mehr an Bedeutung. Für viele Banking-Systeme ist dies jedoch eine grosse Herausforderung.

Der Entwicklung zum „mobile Banking“ trägt Raiffeisen mit ihrem neuen E-Banking-Frontend Rechnung. Für die Umsetzung der neuen Benutzeroberfläche hat Raiffeisen entschieden, ihre wichtigste Kundenschnittstelle mit internen Entwicklern umzusetzen. Die Web-Agentur Liip hat Raiffeisen dabei unterstützt und somit geholfen dieses ambitionierte Ziel zu erreichen. Mit Liip hat Raiffeisen bereits das Portal MemberPlus und Teile des Intranets von Raiffeisen umgesetzt.

Partnerschaft als Erfolgsrezept

Während dem Projekt haben Entwickler von Raiffeisen mit den Liip-Entwicklern gemeinsam in einem Büro in St. Gallen zusammengearbeitet. Das Ergebnis dieser engen Zusammenarbeit ist ein vollständig responsive aufgebautes E-Banking System, welches auf allen mobilen Geräten genutzt werden kann. Das Design dazu lieferte Namics.
Im Zug den Kontostand überprüfen, am See den Dauerauftrag für die Miete anpassen oder auf der Skipiste die Zahnarztrechnung bezahlen? Mit dem neuen Raiffeisen E-Banking schnell und einfach erledigt.

Die Möglichkeiten von mobilen Geräten nutzen

Die Darstellung eines Systems auf Mobile Devices auszulegen ist ein Schritt in die richtige Richtung. Das Raiffeisen E-Banking geht aber noch weiter. Ein konkretes Bedürfnis von Kundinnen und Kunden ist das schnelle und einfache Einlesen von Einzahlungsscheinen. Mittels Kamera werden die Einzahlungsscheine erfasst und im E-Banking verarbeitet. Vorbei ist die Zeit des mühsamen Abtippens von langen Referenznummern.

Auch im Hinblick auf das Login wurde die Mobilität berücksichtigt. Mit PhotoTAN bietet das neue Raiffeisen E-Banking eine sichere Anmeldung. Dafür ist nebst einem mobilen Gerät, kein zusätzliches Gerät nötig. Die Login-Applikation PhotoTAN kann auf allen verbreiteten Plattformen/Geräten installiert werden (iOS, Android, Windows Phone). Sie bietet dieselbe Sicherheit, wie die Anmeldung über den PC Zuhause.

Technische Umsetzung

Mit dem Release hat das Projektteam das Front- und Backend des E-Bankings aufgeteilt, dadurch konnte das bestehende Backend von Crealogix übernommen werden. Die Kommunikation der beiden Systeme findet über eine eigens entwickelte Schnittstelle statt.

Zudem hat das Frontend Umsetzungs-Team durch den Einsatz moderner Webtechnologien wie AngularJS, Grunt, Bootstrap und Less die Ansprüche an die Lösung ideal umgesetzt.

Automatisches Testing – nachhaltige Qualitätssicherung

Innovativ bei der Entwicklung des Raiffeisen E-Bankings war unter anderem auch der Aufbau und Einsatz von automatisierten Tests. Das Test-System führt bei Anpassungen des Source-Codes eine Serie von Tests aus und überprüft, ob die bestehende Funktionalität nicht beeinträchtigt wird. Anders als bei Unit-Tests überprüft das System die Funktionalität direkt im Browser und interagiert wie ein realer Benutzer mit der Benutzeroberfläche. Dies erhöht die Qualität des Systems.

 

«Das neue E-Banking positioniert uns erneut als innovative und moderne Bankengruppe. Wir können unseren Kunden ein intuitives und auf ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnittenes Benutzererlebnis bieten.»

Zusatzinformationen