Open data unlocks a burst of innovation

SBB Open Data PlattformNext item

Switzerland’s public transport services are among the best in Europe. To make sure that it stays like that, the Swiss Federal Railways (SBB) has launched a massive infrastructure expansion programme, which will run until 2040. As well as infrastructure-specific challenges, the SBB has to contend with ever-changing customer needs. Today’s travellers want more than a simple ride from A to B. So, how does the SBB plan to keep up to speed with this fast-moving environment?

By getting on board the digital train, according to Rahel Ryf, head of the SBB’s Public Transport Open Data Unit and a firm believer in the transformative power of digitalisation: “In terms of infrastructure, strong foundations for the future are already in place, and these are maintained and expanded on a continual basis. In terms of our digital services, we’re focusing our efforts on harmonising these as best we possibly can.” Such a move will allow the SBB not only to densify its services but also to knit public and private transport more closely together.

“Not invented here” – a thing of the past

Likewise, the Federal Office of Transport (FOT) is keenly aware that innovative digital solutions are needed for public and combined transport. This is why the FOT commissioned SBB Infrastructure with providing the requisite data and infrastructure. Correspondingly, it tasked the SBB Infrastructure Division with delivering the necessary data and infrastructure. The latter launched an open call for tenders, plumping for Liip once again.

The ‘Public Transport Switzerland open data platform’ currently holds around six gigabytes of machine-readable data, a ‘recipe book’ with examples and instructions, as well as a community management area where users can share ideas and provide one another with support. The platform is aimed at a wide range of stakeholders: the federal authorities, rail operators, the Swiss public transport system as a whole, and data users in companies and start-ups, as well as the entire open data community.

The platform also serves as a springboard for a host of innovations. There is Time for Coffee, an app that displays a list of imminent departures from your nearest station. Or TrainDelayBot, a chat bot which keeps you posted on the latest delays as soon as you set foot in the station. And, not forgetting the Viadi Touch Timetable, an app that uses freely available data to let you organise your travel schedule in just one swipe. The fact that it is now part of the official SBB app is proof that the federal rail service provider knows how to leverage community potential, shunting the “Not invented here” attitude to the sidings, for good.

Open source for open data

The SBB and Liip have opted for proven open source technologies and solutions to power opentransportdata.swiss: CKAN to manage the data catalogue, WordPress to manage content and Discourse to manage the community. Also, the platform is able to provide data in real time thanks to GTFS-RT.

Another innovative move was the use of the API-management platform Tyk. This allowed the project team to make interfaces to peripheral systems publicly available in an efficient, secure and controlled way. As a result, the SBB is able to define clear, controllable conditions and benefit from new business ideas. In the end, open data generates much more than just costs.

The huge potential of the opentransportdata.swiss platform was also recognised by the Best of Swiss Web Awards 2017 jury. The project took bronze in the Public Affairs category.

Additional details

Innovationsschub dank offener Daten

SBB Open-Data-PlattformNächster Artikel

Das Angebot des öffentlichen Verkehrs in der Schweiz gehört zur europäischen Spitze. Damit dies so bleibt, baut die SBB die Bahninfrastruktur bis 2040 massiv aus. Neben der Herausforderung bezüglich Infrastruktur verändern sich zudem die Kundenbedürfnisse. Es reicht nicht mehr, von Ort zu Ort transportiert zu werden. Aber wie erfüllt die Bahn die steigenden Bedürfnisse?

Digital, findet Rahel Ryf. Die Verantwortliche der Fachstelle Open Data öV bei der SBB setzt grosses Vertrauen in die Digitalisierung: “Wir verfügen im Bereich Infrastruktur über eine gute Basis für die Zukunft, welche wir kontinuierlich unterhalten und erweitern. Jetzt sorgen wir im digitalen Bereich dafür, dass diese Services noch besser miteinander harmonieren.” Damit verdichtet die SBB nicht nur das Angebot mit Hilfe von digitalen Services, sondern kombiniert auch öffentlichen und privater Verkehr besser miteinander.

Weg von “Not invented here”

Dass es einen Innovationsschub in Sachen digitaler Lösungen für den öffentlichen und kombinierten Verkehr braucht, sieht auch das Bundesamt für Verkehr. Entsprechend erteilte es der SBB Infrastruktur den Auftrag, die Daten und Infrastruktur bereitzustellen. Diese wiederum wählte in einem offenen Ausschreibungsverfahren Liip.

Mit aktuell rund sechs Gigabyte an maschinenlesbaren Daten, einem “Kochbuch” mit Beispielen und Anleitungen sowie dem Community Management für Austausch und Support orientiert sich die Open-Data-Plattform öV Schweiz an den Bedürfnissen einer grossen Zahl von Stakeholdern: vom Bund über die Bahn und das ganze System des öffentlichen Verkehrs bis zu den Nutzern der Daten in Unternehmen, Startups und der ganzen Open Data Community.

Und sie bildet gleichzeitig eine Basis für innovative Ansätze aus verschiedensten Richtungen: Eine App, die nur die Abfahrten der nächstgelegenen Station anzeigt? Time for Coffee. Ein Chat-Bot der dich beim Betreten eines Bahnhofs über die aktuellen Verspätungen informiert? TrainDelayBot. Eine App in der ich mit einem Wisch die gewünschte Strecke abrufe? Der Viadi Touch-Fahrplan. Letzterer entstand auf Basis frei verfügbarer Daten – und ist mittlerweile Teil der offiziellen SBB-App. Die SBB weiss das Potenzial der Community zu nutzen, eine „Not invented here“ Barriere gibt es nicht mehr.

Open Source für offene Daten

opentransportdata.swiss setzt auf Open Source Lösungen. Mit CKAN als Datenkatalog, WordPress als Content Management System und Discourse für das Community Management bauen SBB und Liip auf bewährte Technologien. Zusätzlich stellt die Plattform mit GTFS-RT sicher, dass Daten in Echtzeit zur Verfügung stehen.

Auch der innovative Ansatz fehlt nicht. Über die API-Management Plattform Tyk machte das Projektteam Schnittstellen von Umsystemen effizient, sicher und kontrolliert öffentlich. Die SBB definiert somit klare, kontrollierbare Bedingungen und kann ebenfalls von Geschäftsideen profitieren. Damit am Ende offene Daten nicht nur zu offenen Rechnungen führen.

Das Potenzial von opentransportdata.swiss erkannte auch die Jury des Best of Swiss Web Awards 2017 und verlieh dem Projekt einen Bronze Award in der Kategorie Public Affairs.

Zusatzinformationen