Intranet 2.0

Previous itemRaiffeisen RAIweb 2.0Next item

For some time the Swiss bank group Raiffeisen had been keen to take the principles of web 2.0 (RSS, Ajax, mashups and social software) and apply them to its intranet system. It has since gone on to introduce a personalised homepage service along the lines of iGoogle, a telephone directory with an interface similar to Facebook or Xing, as well as a decentralised content management system. In doing so, Raiffeisen has proved to be a major innovator and an example for other businesses to follow.

Personalised

Thanks to its first-rate usability, personalisation capability and improved integration with internal and external technical and productivity applications (e.g. Lotus Notes), the new Raiffeisen intranet system has enjoyed high user acceptance.
The work of the interdisciplinary project team, whose members included Raiffeisen’s own experts, web 2.0 developers and specialists from Liip, as well as user experience professionals from Stimmt AG, was based on the agile scrum method. This allowed the team to integrate all requested user extensions within the shortest possible timeframe despite the multiple interfaces involved.

Sustainable

Raiffeisen is not the only one to benefit. The project has provided a springboard for the launch of an open source initiative that seeks to share the user extensions developed by the project with other interested businesses.

Tested

RAIweb 2.0 passed the "Certified Secure Web Technology" test and is the perfect illustration of how open source technologies (e.g. PHP and MySQL) can be combined with traditional business applications (e.g. Lotus Notes) to generate secure, forward-looking and scalable solutions.

Additional details

Intranet basierend auf Prinzipien des Web 2.0

Die Raiffeisen Schweiz beschäftigt sich seit geraumer Zeit mit der Frage, wie die erfolgreichen Prinzipien der Web 2.0-Idee (RSS, Ajax, Mashups und Social Software) effizient im firmeninternen Intranet nutzbar gemacht werden können. Mit der Einführung einer persönlichen Startseite à la iGoogle, einem Telefonverzeichnis mit Facebook- oder Xing-Charakter sowie dezentraler Inhaltsverwaltung wurden wichtige Innovationsschritte unternommen, die nicht nur intern wegweisenden Charakter haben dürften.

Personalisiert

Die Kombination von erstklassiger Usability, sinnvoller Personalisierung und enger Verzahnung mit internen und externen Fach- und Produktivitätsapplikationen wie Lotus Notes hat sich als schlagkräftige Basis für eine hohe Akzeptanz bei den Benutzern erwiesen.
Ein interdisziplinäres Projektteam aus internen Wissensträgern, Entwicklern und Web 2.0 Experten von Liip sowie User Experience Spezialisten der Stimmt AG haben mit dem agilen Vorgehensmodell Scrum die Erweiterungen trotz vieler Schnittstellen innerhalb kürzester Zeit umgesetzt.

Nachhaltig

Von der Projektarbeit profitiert aber nicht nur Raiffeisen. Viel mehr ist aus dem Projekt eine Open Source Initiative entstanden, welche die umgesetzten Erweiterungen auch anderen interessierten Unternehmen zur Verfügung stellt.

Geprüft

RAIweb 2.0 hat die "Certified Secure Web Technology" Prüfung bestanden und ist damit ein Musterbeispiel, wie Open Source Technologien (z.B. PHP und MySQL) mit traditioneller Unternehmens-IT (z.B. Lotus Notes) zu sicheren, skalierbaren, zuverlässigen und zukunftsweisenden Lösungen zusammengebracht werden können.

Zusatzinformationen