Digital branding via a central communications channel

Previous itemFREITAG Website RelaunchNext item

The new FREITAG website had to tick alot of boxes: global distribution, diversification, an online store as unique as the products it sells, and a central communication channel. Liip pulled out all the stops to make this happen.

When FREITAG decided to completely overhaul its website, it knew the time was right to bring in a fresh pair of eyes. It wanted a partner that had the necessary web development expertise to improve the conversion rate of its online store, as well as transform the site into the company’s central, and future-proof, channel of communication.

FREITAG found exactly what it was looking for in Liip, a Swiss full-service web agency. Not only did Liip deliver in terms of its web know-how, but the concept, approach and culture underpinning its business were a perfect match for the values of the Zurich maker of bags and accessories.

Easy navigation thanks to first-rate UX design

FREITAG pared down its product categories. Streamlined navigation and the prominent placement of the online store on the landing page mean that customers can access FREITAG’s ever-expanding and diversified product range more quickly and easily than before.

The new FREITAG online store now has assorted product filters that let users find, in a matter of a few clicks, the one-off bag of their dreams. The new website design also lets FREITAG harness the potential of author-based content to navigate users to interest-led products and stories.

Post-relaunch is in fact pre-relaunch: FREITAG and Liip are already looking into the possible addition of even more features, such as Liip’s analytics tools. These make it possible to collect information on every step that the customer takes: from the moment they enter the online store right up until they check out. FREITAG can then use these actionable insights to make user experience even better than before.

Implementation: needs-led, Drupal-powered

Given the complexities of the FREITAG website, Liip recommended Drupal. Many content management systems (CMS) focus on either general web content or shop content. Drupal bucks the trend. This open source CMS addresses both of these needs, as well as making it possible to design the user journey around product and brand stories. Drupal also offers FREITAG greater flexibility, enabling them to quickly and efficiently adapt their online store in response to the most exacting requirements.

 

 

«This wide-ranging project gave us an opportunity to showcase the full breadth and depth of our expertise. One of the reasons why the relaunch was so successful is the fact that we could provide FREITAG with all the services it needed.»

«Liip shared our view that the rigid system corset is a thing of the past; agility and DIY-friendly open-source systems are the future.»

Additional details

Zentraler Kommunikationskanal für das digitale Branding

vorheriger ArtikelFREITAG Website RelaunchNächster Artikel

Unikate im Webshop, globale Distribution, Diversifikation und zentraler Kommunikationskanal – für den Relaunch von freitag.ch zog Liip alle Register.

Im Rahmen eines kompletten Relaunch der Webseite suchte FREITAG einen neuen Partner. Mit der neuen Webseite soll die Shop-Conversion erhöht und die Grundlage für einen zukunftsfähigen, zentralen Kommunikationskanal erfüllt werden.

In der Schweizer Full-Service Web-Agentur Liip fand FREITAG den idealen Partner, weil die Agentur konzeptionell, methodisch aber auch kulturell den Ansprüchen und Wertvorstellungen der Zürcher Taschenmanufaktur entsprach.

Einfache Benutzerführung dank durchdachter User Experience

Aufgrund des breit gefächerten Angebotes vereinfachte FREITAG die Produktkategorien. Kunden erreichen die Produktauswahl über eine aufs Wesentliche reduzierte Navigation und einen noch prominenteren Einstieg in die expandierende und diversifizierte Produktwelt.

Besucher finden bei jedem Schritt im neuen FREITAG Online Store durch verschiedene Filter ihr passendes Taschen-Unikat. Dazu hat FREITAG mit der neuen Webseite die Möglichkeit, Benutzer über Autoren-basierte Inhalte zu interessensgesteuerten Produkten und Geschichten zu führen.

Nach dem Relaunch ist vor dem Relaunch: FREITAG und Liip sind bereits daran, weitere Features für die neue Webseite umzusetzen. Ein Beispiel dafür sind die von Liip integrierten Analytics Optionen, welche Informationen zu jedem Schritt auf dem Weg des Kunden zum Warenkorb zur Verfügung stellen. So kann Freitag die User Journey ständig verbessern.

Bedürfnisgerechte Umsetzung mit Drupal

Liip schlug vor, für den komplexen Webauftritt Drupal einzusetzen. Viele Systeme präferieren entweder Content oder Shopinhalte. Nicht so Drupal: Das Open Source CMS integriert beide Bedürfnisse und ermöglicht so ein auf Produkt- und Markengeschichten ausgerichtete User Journey. Zudem ermöglicht Drupal einen flexiblen Webshop, welcher rasch und effizient an die anspruchsvollen Bedürfnisse von FREITAG angepasst werden kann.

 

 

Tonio Zemp

«Bei diesem umfassenden Projekt konnten wir die ganze Breite und Tiefe unserer Kompetenz zeigen. Dass wir alle Services aus einer Hand anbieten konnten, war einer der Schlüsselfaktoren für den Erfolg des Relaunches»

«Liip hat uns auf dem Weg zur neuen Plattform bestätigt, dass steife System-Korsette der Vergangenheit angehören - Agilität und Open Source Systeme, die DIY zulassen, sind die Zukunft»

Zusatzinformationen