Switzerland’s simplest transport ticket

Previous itemFAIRTIQ Smart TicketNext item

For proof of Liip’s development prowess, you need look no further than FAIRTIQ. This new app makes life much easier for Swiss public transport users by automatically working out the cost of their journey and ensuring that the cost of multiple journeys in one day is never more than the cost of a one-day travel card.

FAIRTIQ is Switzerland’s simplest public transport ticket and the first mobile ticketing app based on the “Check-In/Assisted Check-Out” (CIACO) principle. This means that users simply check in before they board and check out at the end of their journey. The app rectifies a major problem with existing CIACO-based solutions by sending a reminder alert if the user has forgotten to check out. Thanks to location detection, the app is able to track the route taken and then works out the lowest possible fare according to the fare zone model of the given transport provider.

One swipe, one ticket

The app automatically detects the user’s location. So, all travellers have to do is swipe the start button before they board. The app tracks the route and automatically calculates the (cheapest possible) fare. The app can be used across the entire network of FAIRTIQ partner transport providers.

The registration process is simple and data entry is kept to a minimum. Should they experience any problems or have questions about the tickets, users are able to contact the after-sales services directly via the app.

Cross-platform development powered by Xamarin

The app was built using Xamarin, a special software which makes it possible develop native apps for multiple platforms using a single code. FAIRTIQ is now available for Android, iOs and Apple Watch.

Additional details

Die einfachste Fahrkarte der Schweiz

FAIRTIQ nutzt die Entwicklungspower von Liip. Das erste smarte Ticket vereinfacht das Reisen. Kunden müssen sich nicht durch den Tarif-Dschungel schlagen. FAIRTIQ verrechnet das richtige Ticket – automatisch und zum bestmöglichen Preis.

FAIRTIQ ist die einfachste Fahrkarte der Schweiz und die weltweit erste produktive App, die den Kauf von Tickets nach dem «Check- In/Assisted Check-Out» (CIACO)-Prinzip ermöglicht. Bisher mussten Fahrgäste Abfahrts- und Zielort festlegen, bevor sie den ÖV nutzen konnten. Mit FAIRTIQ checken sie vor der Fahrt ein und nach der Fahrt aus. Geht der Check-Out vergessen, erinnert FAIRTIQ den Nutzer automatisch – womit ein zentraler Nachteil von bisherigen Check-In-Check-Out-Lösungen behoben wird. Dank Standorterkennung wird die Reise erfasst und anschliessend gemäss dem Zonenmodell des Transportunternehmens zum bestmöglichen Preis verrechnet.

Mit einem Swipe zum gültigen Ticket

Die App findet automatisch den richtigen Standort. Vor dem Einsteigen betätigt der Nutzer lediglich den Start-Knopf und kann das gesamte Netz des Verbundes nutzen. Im Hintergrund wird der Reiseweg und automatisch der bestmögliche Preis berechnet.

Der Anmelde-Prozess gestaltet sich simpel und ohne Angabe von unnötigen Daten. Bei Fragen zu den Tickets ist eine direkte Kommunikation mit dem jeweiligen After-Sales-Service der App möglich.

Plattform übergreifende Entwicklung dank Xamarin

Die App wurde in der Entwicklungsumgebung Xamarin realisiert. Xamarin ermöglicht das Erstellen nativer Apps für verschiedene Plattformen – der Code wird nur einmal geschrieben. FAIRTIQ ist für Android und iOS und neu auch für die Apple Watch erhältlich

Zusatzinformationen