Intuitive online banking via mobile or desktop

Previous itemRaiffeisen E-BankingNext item

For many, paying bills online has become a matter of course. But now what a rising number of customers want are mobile banking services. However, this growing trend poses a real challenge to banking systems.

To satisfy the rising demand for mobile banking services, Raiffeisen developed a new e-banking frontend. As regards the new user interface, the Swiss bank relied on its in-house developers to build the key client interfaces. However, Liip was on hand to provide Raiffeisen with extra support to realise its ambitious goal. This was not the first time that the two had worked together: Liip was behind the development of the Raiffeisen MemberPlus portal and parts of the bank’s intranet.

Partnership – key to success

Throughout the project developers from Raiffeisen and Liip shared an office St. Gallen. A 100% responsive online banking solution that is compatible with any mobile device is the result of this close working relationship. Namics oversaw the design of the new solution.
Checking your account balance on the train, changing your standing order while lounging on the beach, or even paying your dentist’s bill on the ski slopes… With the new e-banking system, Raiffeisen customers can now carry out all of these operations quickly and easily.

Leveraging the potential of mobile devices

Adapting an online system so that it works on mobile devices too is definitely a step in the right direction. But the Raiffeisen e-banking solution goes one step further. For example, take the tedious process of entering all the data that appears on the paper paying-in slip. For Raiffeisen customers, this is now a thing of the past. All they have to do is scan the document using the camera on their mobile device and hey presto… their payment is processed in the blink of an eye.

The log-in process is also mobile-friendly. PhotoTAN provides a secure log-in without the need for any additional devices. The PhotoTAN log-in app can be installed on all standard platforms/devices (iOS, Android, Windows Phone) and offers users the same level of security as connecting to the online banking system via your home desktop.

Technical implementation

In terms of the release, one part of the project team dealt with the frontend, while the other with the backend. This made it possible to keep the existing backend built by Crealogix. 
Communication between the two systems is via a specially developed interface. 

The frontend team used the latest web technologies like AngularJS, Grunt, Bootstrap and Less to develop the best-possible solution.

Automatic testing – lasting quality assurance

The process of developing the Raiffeisen e-banking solution was innovative for many reasons, one of which was the construction and use of automated tests. When adapting the source code, the system carries out a series of tests to verify that the existing system functionalities are not compromised in any way. Unlike unit tests, the automated test system checks these directly in the browser and interacts with the user interface just as a real user would. The upshot: a better quality system.

 

«The new e-banking system bolsters our status as an innovative and modern bank group. We are now in a position to offer our customers an intuitive user experience that is tailored to their needs.»

Additional details

E-banking intuitif pour appareils mobiles et ordinateurs de bureau

Effectuer ses paiements en ligne est devenu une évidence pour de nombreux clients. Le banking mobile gagne lui aussi rapidement du terrain. Pour les systèmes bancaires, ces applications qui facilitent la vie de la clientèle constituent un véritable défi.

Afin de répondre à la demande croissante de banking mobile, la banque Raiffeisen a développé un nouveau frontend d’e-banking. Dans le but implémenter la nouvelle surface utilisateurs, la Raffeisen a choisi de réaliser les principales interfaces clients avec ses propres spécialistes. L’agence web Liip a soutenu la Raiffeisen à réaliser cet objectif ambitieux. La Raffeisen avait déjà fait appel à Liip pour réaliser son portail MemberPlus et certains volets de son Intranet.

Le partenariat – la clé du succès

Pendant le projet, les développeurs de Raiffeisen ont travaillé ensemble avec des développeurs de Liip dans un bureau à St Gall. Le résultat de cette étroite collaboration est un système e-banking entièrement adaptatif, utilisable sur tous les appareils mobiles. L’agence Namics a conçu le design.
Vérifier l’état de son compte dans le train, adapter l’ordre permanent de son loyer en mer, payer la facture du dentiste sur une piste de ski… Avec le nouvel e-banking de Raiffeisen, toutes ces opérations peuvent être effectuées rapidement et facilement.

Exploiter les possibilités des appareils mobiles

Adapter un système en ligne pour qu’il fonctionne sur un appareil mobile est un premier pas. Mais l’e-banking de Raiffeisen va plus loin. Prenons l’opération fastidieuse des paiements en ligne. Fini le temps où il fallait taper de longs numéros de référence ; les bulletins sont scannés et traités dans l’application d’e-banking en un rien de temps.

Par rapport au login également, l’accent a été mis sur la mobilité. Avec PhotoTAN, l’e-banking de Raiffeisen permet de se connecter via son mobile en toute sécurité, sans appareil supplémentaire. L’application login de PhotoTAN peut être installée sur tous les appareils/plateformes courants (iOS, Android, Windows Phone) ; elle offre la même sécurité qu’une connexion à son domicile, sur un ordinateur.

Implémentation technique

Pour le release, l’équipe de projet a traité séparément le frontend et le backend de l’e-banking, ce qui a permis de reprendre le backend existant de Crealogix. La communication entre les deux systèmes se déroule via une interface spécialement développée à cet effet.
En outre, l’équipe « frontend » a utilisé des technologies web modernes comme AngularJS, Grunt, Bootstrap et Less pour trouver la solution idéale.

Testing automatique – pour une assurance-qualité durable

Entre autres éléments novateurs du nouveau système d’e-banking de Raiffeisen, mentionnons la conception et l’utilisation de tests automatisés. En cas d’adaptation du code source, le système de testing effectue une série de tests pour vérifier que les fonctionnalités de l’e-banking ne sont pas perturbées. À la différence du test unitaire, le système contrôle les fonctionnalités directement dans le navigateur et interagit comme le fait un utilisateur réel avec une surface utilisateur. Une formule qui améliore la qualité du système.

 

«Le nouvel e-banking nous positionne une fois de plus comme un groupe bancaire moderne et innovant. Nous pouvons ainsi offrir à nos clients une expérience utilisateur intuitive et adaptée à leurs besoins.»

Détails supplémentaires