sel-header.png

Smart Energy Link

Smart Energy Link (SEL) and Liip worked together to develop a service that allows “self-consumption communities” to be easily operated, managed and billed. The centrepiece of the service is a user-friendly customer portal. Self-produced solar energy can now be used economically and conveniently.

Client
Smart Energy Link
Awards
  • 2019 Best of Swiss Web Gold “Innovation”
  • 2019 Best of Swiss Web Bronze “Business”

The customer portal as the centrepiece

The centrepiece of Smart Energy Link’s solution is a simple, user-friendly customer portal, which we have developed using the latest technologies, such as Python and Vue.js. The customer portal is linked with various electricity and water meters located in the buildings of the “self-consumption community”. The vast amount of data collected is automatically evaluated on the customer portal in real-time. The user then gets easy access to this data in the form of interactive diagrams.

New utility bills

Up until now, billing for electricity was the job of energy companies. In “self-consumption communities”, this complex task now lies with property managers for the first time. Our aim was to actively simplify this task. That is why we developed an easy, automated utility bill on the SEL customer portal. It is based on the vast volume of data continuously supplied to us by the meters. The complex calculations surrounding electricity tariff models are processed in the background. With just a few clicks, you have a simple, transparent and user-friendly utility bill for the amount of sustainable electricity used.

From complex to easy

Make complex tasks easy with the right service design, a tailored user experience and a cross-functional, agile team

Our biggest challenge was making the complex topic of electricity in “self-consumption communities” easy for users. We were working in a field that was completely new for all those involved, so continuous learning and trying new approaches was a popular way of working. The key to success for this project was taking a customer-oriented approach to creating the service design and user experience in order to find a holistic and simple solution. Furthermore, using the agile scrum method when executing the project helped us to implement our solution quickly and efficiently and allowed us to continually integrate our newest findings into the solution.

Using the latest technologies to create an exciting user experience

Smart Energy Link’s specific needs were fulfilled by developing customised solutions in Python and Javascript. The system architecture has been designed on the principles of flexibility and expandability. The widespread availability of the Django framework in the Python world and the ease with which robust and performant web applications can be created with it were decisive reasons for choosing this framework for the back end. This choice of technology allowed for the implementation of a future-proof, performant and open solution that can be developed and operated cost effectively. At the same time, this also laid the foundations for further developments that had already been planned.

The simple and user-friendly customer portal is the centrepiece of our solution. It allows the costs of electricity, heating and water to be separated and billed in a very simple way that saves time and does not require expert knowledge.

Tobias Stahel
Founder and CEO of SEL

sel-header.png

Smart Energy Link

Smart Energy Link (SEL) et Liip ont dĂ©veloppĂ© ensemble un service simplifiant la gestion, la comptabilisation et la facturation des communautĂ©s d’autoconsommation. PiĂšce maĂźtresse du concept : un portail client convivial. L’utilisation de l’énergie solaire produite de maniĂšre autonome devient ainsi rentable et utilisable facilement.

Client
Smart Energy Link

Le portail client, piĂšce centrale du service

La solution de Smart Energy Link s’articule autour d’un portail client simple et convivial. Nous l’avons conçu Ă  partir des technologies les plus modernes comme Python et Vue.js. Le portail client est connectĂ© aux diffĂ©rents compteurs d’électricitĂ© et d’eau sur place, dans les bĂątiments de la communautĂ© d’autoconsommation. Les immenses quantitĂ©s de donnĂ©es sont automatiquement analysĂ©es en temps rĂ©el dans le portail client, et reprĂ©sentĂ©es sous forme de graphiques interactifs faciles d’accĂšs pour les utilisateurs.

Les nouveaux décomptes de charges

La facturation de l’électricitĂ© relevait jusqu’à prĂ©sent de la responsabilitĂ© de la centrale Ă©lectrique. Avec les communautĂ©s d’autoconsommation, cette tĂąche complexe incombe dĂ©sormais aux rĂ©gies immobiliĂšres. Notre objectif est de leur simplifier la vie. Pour cela, nous avons intĂ©grĂ© au portail client SEL un systĂšme simple et automatisĂ© de dĂ©compte des charges. Il fonctionne Ă  partir des gigantesques volumes de donnĂ©es envoyĂ©s par les compteurs. Les calculs complexes liĂ©s aux modĂšles de tarification de l’électricitĂ© sont exĂ©cutĂ©s en arriĂšre-plan. Ainsi, quelques clics suffisent pour obtenir une facture simple et transparente de la consommation d’électricitĂ© durable utilisĂ©e.

Rendre simple ce qui paraĂźt complexe

Grùce au service design, à la user experience et à une équipe cross-fonctionnelle agile et compétente

Le dĂ©fi que nous devions relever : rendre simple, aux yeux des utilisateurs, le sujet complexe de l’électricitĂ© et des communautĂ©s d’autoconsommation. Le sujet Ă©tait nouveau pour les membres de l’équipe chez Liip. Nous avons donc optĂ© pour une dĂ©marche itĂ©rative. Nous apprenions en avançant. Dans un tel contexte, les clĂ©s du succĂšs ont Ă©tĂ© pour nous, d’une part l’adoption d’une approche orientĂ©e utilisateur avec le service design et une user experience permettant de trouver une solution simple et globale. Et d’autre part, une mise en Ɠuvre agile de type Scrum. Nous avons ainsi pu dĂ©ployer rapidement et efficacement notre solution, et y intĂ©grer en permanence les nouvelles connaissances acquises.

Des technologies ultramodernes au service d’une expĂ©rience utilisateur convaincante

Les exigences spĂ©cifiques de Smart Energy Link ont Ă©tĂ© traitĂ©es individuellement avec Python et Javascript. L’architecture du systĂšme repose sur la flexibilitĂ© et l’extensibilitĂ©. Pour le back-end, le choix s’est portĂ© sur Django car ce framework est trĂšs largement rĂ©pandu dans l’environnement Python. Il permet Ă©galement de crĂ©er facilement des applications web solides et performantes. L’utilisation de ces technologies garantit une mise en Ɠuvre efficace, Ă©conomique et pĂ©renne de la solution, tant en termes de dĂ©veloppement que d’exploitation. Elle pose Ă©galement les bases nĂ©cessaires Ă  de futurs dĂ©veloppements de projets.

Le portail client simple et convivial est le cƓur de notre solution. GrĂące Ă  lui, la rĂ©partition et le dĂ©compte des charges liĂ©es Ă  la consommation d’électricitĂ©, de chauffage et d’eau sont simples et rapides, et ne nĂ©cessitent aucune connaissance technique.

Tobias Stahel
fondateur et CEO de SEL