case-sg-content-guide-1.png

Content guidelines for the canton of St. Gallen

The canton of St. Gallen is getting a new website. A key part of the project is the new content. Liip supported the 200-strong editorial team by providing digital writing guidelines.

Client
Kanton St. Gallen
Solution
sg.ch

Writing for the needs of web-users

Although the texts on the canton of St.Gallen’s old website were all correct in terms of content, they no longer met current requirements: no one reads long articles any more, and no one hunts down information within a long piece of continuous text. Lots of titles, short paragraphs, lists and bullet points are some of the ways we help aid skim reading and keep impatient web users happy. The interactive content guide helps the editorial team approach this ‘new’ method of writing in the best possible way.

Writing for search engines

Another challenge for online content is that it needs to be found by search engines: whether users want to renew their driving licences or contact the Department of Home Affairs, their first stop is Google. Liip created easy-to-follow rules to help the editorial team produce texts that fit these requirements and optimise them for search engines.

Accessibility first

The canton’s website contains information for all target groups, as everyone has to file a tax return or apply for a passport. We therefore drew up some rules to make the website content as accessible as possible. Together with the writing guidelines, style guide and SEO recommendations, the accessibility rules were compiled into a single website. No matter where or when a text is being written, the rules are just a click away.

The conten guide is following the 3E principle: content needs to be efficient, effective and empathetic.

A memory hook helps editors remember what St.Gallen's content aims for: 3Es as in efficient, effective and empathic.

The 3E principle – an aide memoire for the editorial team

The philosophy behind the user-friendly content guide is to make things as easy as possible for the editorial team, as this is the only way to help them produce texts that are as easy as possible to read. A core element is the 3E principle: our texts are efficient, effective and empathetic. In other words, visitors achieve their objective quickly (efficient), visiting our website provides a benefit and has an effect (effective), and our users are supported and feel understood (empathetic). And all with the same goal in mind: making the canton’s expertise available and usable for all inhabitants. The Liip team is delighted to be supporting this important work.

The interactive content guide provides us with a tool that is available to the whole team anywhere and at any time, and has significantly improved the quality of our content.

Clemens Nef
Canton of St. Gallen Project Manager

case-sg-content-guide-1.png

Content Guidelines fĂŒr den Kanton St.Gallen

Der Kanton St.Gallen erhĂ€lt eine neue Webseite. Ein zentraler Teil des Projekts: der neue Content. Liip hat das 200 köpfige Redaktionsteam mit digitalen Writing-Guidelines unterstĂŒtzt.

Kunde
Kanton St. Gallen
Lösung
sg.ch

FĂŒr das Leseverhalten im Web schreiben

Obschon der Text auf der alten Webseite des Kantons St.Gallen inhaltlich korrekt war, entsprach er nicht mehr den heutigen Anforderungen. Denn niemand liest noch lange Texte, niemand sucht sich Informationen aus einem langen Fliesstext heraus. Viele Titel, kurze Abschnitte, Listen und AufzĂ€hlungen - so unterstĂŒtzen wir das Querlesen und halten ungeduldige Web-User bei Laune. Der interaktive Content Guide unterstĂŒtzt das Redaktionsteam, auf diese “neue” Art des Schreibens bestmöglich einzugehen.

FĂŒr Suchmaschinen schreiben

Eine weitere Herausforderung bei Web-Inhalten: Sie mĂŒssen von Suchmaschinen gefunden werden. Denn egal ob jemand einen FĂŒhrerschein erneuern möchte oder das Departements des Innern sucht - User fragen heute als erstes Google. Mit kurzen ErklĂ€rungen und einfach zu befolgenden Regeln unterstĂŒtzt Liip wir das Redaktionsteam, Texte fĂŒr diese Anforderungen fit zu machen und die Inhalte fĂŒr Suchmaschinen zu optimieren.

Texte fĂŒr jedes Lese-Niveau

Die Webseite eines Kantons enthĂ€lt Informationen fĂŒr jede Zielgruppe. Denn die SteuererkĂ€rung einreichen oder einen Pass beantragen mĂŒssen alle. Deshalb haben wir Regeln erstellt, um die Inhalte der Webseite so barrierefrei wie möglich zu machen. Die Accessibility Regeln sind zusammen mit den Schreibrichtlinien, den Schreibkonventionen und den SEO-Empfehlungen auf einer Webseite vereint. Egal wo und wann jemand einen Text schreibt - die Regeln sind mit einem Klick parat.

Schreiben nach dem 3E-Prinzip “effizient, effektiv und empathisch”. Die Eselsleiter hilft dem Redaktionsteam, web-gerechte Inhalte zu entwickeln.

Das 3E-Prinzip – eine Eselsleiter unterstĂŒtzt das Redaktionsteam

Die Philosophie hinter dem benutzerfreundlichen digitalen Content Guide: Nur wenn wir es dem Redaktionsteam so einfach wie möglich machen, entstehen auch Texte, die so einfach wie möglich zu lesen sind. So haben wir ein besonders Augenmerk auf Usability gesetzt. Ein zentrales Element ist das Prinzip der 3E. Unsere Texte sind effizient, effektiv und empathisch. Sprich Besucherinnen und Besucher kommen schnell zu ihrem Ziel (effizient), der Besuch unserer Webseite bringt etwas (effektiv) und unsere User werden abgeholt und fĂŒhlen sich verstanden (empathisch). Mit immer einem Ziel: Wir machen das Wissen des Kantons fĂŒr alle Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner zugĂ€nglich und nutzbar. Das Team von Liip freut sich, diese wichtige Aufgabe unterstĂŒtzen zu können.

Mit dem interaktiven Content Guide haben wir ein Werkzeug, das dem ganzen Team immer und ĂŒberall zur VerfĂŒgung steht und die QualitĂ€t unseres Contents massgeblich verbessert.

Clemens Nef
Projektleiter Kanton St.Gallen