freitag-city-header.png

FREITAG CITY GUIDELINES

The navigation system supported by city insiders, offers interactive maps and videos to guide people through the urban jungle.

Client
Freitag
Awards
  • 2019 Best of Swiss Web Gold “Creation”

While out and about, people not only need bags and clothes but also need to be able to find their way around unfamiliar urban jungles. That’s why FREITAG has developed a new navigation format based on extremely subjective tips from selected, creative locals. The navigation system is called CITY GUIDE LINES and is supported by those with insider knowledge of the city. In short videos, locals talk about their city, providing insider information about a tranquil mini golf course in Vienna, a Berlin swingers’ club for hipsters, why people should avoid Zurich’s lake area, and a district of Milan you are guaranteed to get lost in. CITY GUIDE LINES will have no trouble finding its way onto the mobile devices of modern city hoppers: “must see” and “no go” places are marked on the analogue map and can be transferred to Google Maps in just one click, ready to be taken with you on your journey so you know you are heading in the right direction.

Implementation

CITY GUIDE LINES effectively synchronises a video and map application and is compatible with different browsers. Users can find valuable tips about cities using traditional navigation methods or simply by browsing the map. The videos are supported by a live-animated and interactive map. Points of interest can be exported into a personal Google Maps view with a single click. Nuxt.js with server-side pre-rendering has been used for the technical aspects, with Google Maps and Google Drive used as reliable data sources. rokka, Liip’s own product, was used for the picture hosting and video streaming.

Together with the Liip team, we have managed to convert inspiring videos into a real on-the-go service. The Liip team consistently expanded on and further developed CITY GUIDE LINES' pioneering concept in the web design.

Katharina von Wyl
Online Communication FREITAG

freitag-city-header.png

FREITAG CITY GUIDELINES

Interaktive Karten und Videos um Menschen Orientierung im Stadtdschungel zu bieten - das stadtelitengestĂŒtzte Navigationssystem von FREITAG

Kunde
Freitag
Auszeichnung
  • 2019 Best of Swiss Web Gold “Creation”

Menschen, die unterwegs sind, brauchen nicht nur Taschen und Kleider, sondern auch Orientierung im fremden Stadtdschungel. Deshalb hat FREITAG ein neuartiges Format entwickelt, das auf radikal subjektiven Tipps ausgesuchter, kreativen Lokalhelden beruht: Das “stadtelitengestĂŒtzte” Navigationssystem CITY GUIDE LINES. Der beschauliche Minigolfplatz in Wien, ein Berliner Swingerclub fĂŒr Hipster, wie man ZĂŒrichs Seezone am besten meidet und in welchem MailĂ€nder Quartier man garantiert verloren geht ... in kurzen Videos erklĂ€ren Lokalhelden ihre Stadt. Den Sprung auf die MobilgerĂ€te der zeitgemĂ€ssen Cityhopper schafft CITY GUIDE LINES locker: Die auf analoge Karten gekritzelten "must seens" und No-Go’s lassen sich mit einem Klick in Google Maps ĂŒbertragen, mobil mitnehmen und zielsicher abspazieren.

Die Umsetzung

CITY GUIDE LINES leistet eine performante und mit diversen Browsern kompatible Synchronisation von Video und Kartenapplikation. Die User können die gewĂŒnschten Tipps ĂŒber StĂ€dte einerseits ĂŒber eine klassische Navigation erreichen, andererseits auch durch Browsen der Karte. Das Video wird durch eine live-animierte und interaktive Karte unterstĂŒtzt. Die Point of Interests können mit einem Klick in eine persönliche Google-Maps-Ansicht exportiert werden. Technisch wurde Nuxt.js mit einem server-side prerendering verwendet, mit Google Maps und Google Drive als zuverlĂ€ssige Datenquellen. FĂŒrs Bilderhosting und Videostreaming wurde rokka, das Eigenprodukt von Liip, verwendet.

Gemeinsam mit dem Team von Liip haben wir es geschafft, die inspirierenden Videos in einen echten Service fĂŒr unterwegs zu verwandeln. Das Team von Liip hat den Entdeckungsgedanken von CITY GUIDE LINES im Webdesign konsequent weitergezogen und -entwickelt.

Katharina von Wyl
Online Communication Specialist, FREITAG